S = this book is one in a series.

! = this book may contain themes which are distressing for young readers, especially for the character whose name it appears beside. This does not mean you should avoid it necessarily, but you should probably check it out further before buying it. For example, Quentin Blake’s ‘The Story of the Dancing Frog’ is a beautiful and sensitive book but it unavoidably covers the untimely death of a loved one, so it may not be suitable for all children at all times.

N = non-fiction.

H = Heritage – a much-loved classic, may be particularly suitable as a birth or Christening gift (equally, it is very well-known, so they might already have it!)

V = the character is a villain (I haven’t used it in all cases – villainy is complex!)

G – graphic novel

 = a minor character in this book or series

oop = out of print (still worth including as you may be able to get second-hand copies cheaply and efficiently from internet sites).

BP = blog post – this book is mentioned in a post, click on BP to take you there.

Click back button to return to previous page


A to Z